IPO Costs in 2026: The Complete CFO Breakdown
The headline figure every banker quotes is 4% to 7% of gross proceeds. It is accurate, and it is also deeply misleading. That range covers only the costs disclosed in SEC filings. It excludes the 18 months of preparation work before the S-1 is filed, the D&O insurance shock that hits on day one of trading, the SOX readiness build-out, and the ongoing annual cost of being a public company. When those are included, the average all-in cost of going public across all deal sizes is approximately $27 million, rising to around $90 million for raises above $1 billion, according to Nasdaq Economic Research.
This guide is for CFOs and VP Finance executives who are 12 to 24 months from a potential IPO and need a realistic budget, not a brochure. It breaks IPO costs into three phases, gives specific dollar ranges at three deal-size tiers, and covers the costs that consistently blindside finance teams.
Key takeaway: The 4%, 7% figure from SEC filings captures roughly half the true cost of going public. Build your board presentation around the all-in number, not the disclosed-only number.
How Much Does an IPO Cost in 2026?
Total IPO costs in 2026 average 4%, 7% of gross proceeds in disclosed fees alone, but the all-in cost including pre-IPO preparation runs from roughly $10 million for a sub-$250M raise to $90 million for a raise above $1 billion.
The most comprehensive dataset available comes from PwC Capital Markets, which analyzed actual SEC-disclosed costs from 1,239 companies across ten years of IPOs. That dataset covers legal, accounting, underwriting, SEC registration, printing and distribution, FINRA fees, and exchange listing fees. It excludes companies raising less than $25 million, SPACs, best-efforts offerings, dual listings, and bank offerings.
Nasdaq Economic Research layered in estimated ranges for non-disclosed costs (D&O insurance, PR/IR, internal controls, consulting, valuation, roadshow) to produce the all-in figures. For the sub-$250M tier, they used the low end of cost ranges; for $250M to $1B, the median; for over $1B, the maximum. The result:
| Deal Size | Disclosed Costs (% of proceeds) | All-In Estimated Cost |
|---|---|---|
| Under $250M | 4%, 7% (higher % burden) | ~$10M, $15M |
| $250M, $1B | 4%, 7% | ~$27M (avg. all deal sizes) |
| Over $1B | 4%, 7% (lower % burden) | ~$90M |
The weighted average total cost for all 2025 IPOs was 7.2% of the offer amount. For smaller deals, that figure is far worse: some sub-$50M raises saw costs exceed 20% of proceeds, which makes the economics of a small IPO genuinely questionable.
Phase 1: Pre-IPO Readiness Costs (Start 18-24 Months Out)
Pre-IPO preparation is the most underestimated phase. Most finance teams start thinking about these costs six months before the IPO. The right answer is 18 to 24 months. Starting late means expensive remediation, rushed audits, and governance gaps that SEC comment letters will expose.
The major cost categories in this phase:
Audit Uplift and Financial Statement Preparation
The SEC requires two to three years of audited financial statements in the S-1. If the company has been using a regional or non-PCAOB-registered auditor, switching to a Big Four or major national firm is almost always necessary for a meaningful raise. Underwriters expect it, and large institutional investors require it. The audit uplift cost depends on company complexity, but plan for a material step-up in audit fees from year one of the new engagement.
Companies that have been on cash-basis accounting, using IFRS rather than U.S. GAAP, or applying non-standard revenue recognition also face restatement costs. Converting three years of financials to GAAP-compliant presentation, with PCAOB-standard audits, can run from several hundred thousand dollars to several million depending on complexity.
SOX Readiness and Internal Controls Build-Out
This is the cost that most CFOs underestimate most severely. A company that becomes a large accelerated filer (public float above $700 million) will need a SOX 404(b) auditor attestation in its second annual report. Even companies that start as non-accelerated filers need to build the control environment before the IPO, because the S-1 requires management's assessment of disclosure controls and the audit committee needs to be functional from day one.
Building a SOX-ready control environment typically requires:
- A VP of Internal Audit (often a new hire)
- External consultants to document and test controls
- ERP or GRC system upgrades
- Remediation of any identified material weaknesses before the S-1 is filed
For a mid-size company, this build-out commonly runs $1 million to $5 million or more, spread over 12 to 18 months. Rushing it into six months doubles the cost. For more on the disclosure implications of control deficiencies, see Material Weakness Disclosure and SEC Enforcement in 2026.
Corporate Governance
Going public requires a compliant board structure: a majority of independent directors, a fully independent audit committee (with at least one financial expert), and independent compensation and nominating/governance committees. Recruiting independent directors takes time and costs money. Director compensation (cash retainers plus equity) is an ongoing cost, but the search and onboarding process is a pre-IPO expense. For a detailed sequencing guide, see IPO Corporate Governance Requirements: 2026 Practitioner Walkthrough.
D&O Insurance
Directors and officers insurance for a newly public company is a genuine shock for most management teams. Premiums spiked dramatically in 2020 and 2021 during the SPAC and tech IPO boom, moderated somewhat since, but remain elevated for newly public companies relative to seasoned issuers. The reason: newly public companies have no track record as public filers, no established investor base, and statistically higher litigation risk in the first 12 to 18 months after listing.
D&O premiums are not disclosed in SEC filings, so precise 2026 market rates require a broker quote. Budget for this as a material line item, not a rounding error, and get the quote early because the coverage structure (Side A, B, C; retention levels; coverage limits) requires board-level decisions.
Other Pre-IPO Costs
- Legal fees: Outside counsel for S-1 drafting, due diligence, and SEC comment letter responses. Legal fees are highly variable and routinely exceed initial estimates when the SEC issues multiple rounds of comments. For the full due diligence scope, see the IPO Due Diligence Checklist: The 2026 Issuer's Playbook.
- 409A valuations: Required for stock option grants; typically $5,000, $50,000 per valuation depending on company complexity.
- PR and investor relations: Building the IR function and external communications capability before the IPO.
- Consulting: Readiness assessments, project management, and specialist advisors.
Phase 2: IPO Execution Costs (Transaction Day)
The execution phase is where the disclosed costs live, and where underwriting dominates. Underwriting fees represent 50%, 70% of total IPO costs and are the single largest line item by a wide margin.
Underwriting Discount
The standard underwriting discount for a U.S. IPO has historically clustered around 7% of gross proceeds for mid-size deals. This is not a fixed rate. For larger deals (above $500M), the discount is negotiable and commonly comes in below 7%. For smaller deals, it may be higher. The 7% convention is sticky because underwriters have limited incentive to compete aggressively on price, but issuers with strong deal economics and multiple banks competing for the mandate have room to push.
The underwriting discount is paid at closing and deducted from the gross proceeds. On a $300M raise at 7%, that is $21 million out the door before any other cost.
The Hidden Cost of Underpricing
This is the largest cost of an IPO that no article in the standard SERP mentions, and it dwarfs the underwriting fee for many deals.
Underwriters have a structural incentive to price the deal below where the market would clear. A lower price produces a first-day pop, which rewards the institutional investors the underwriter wants to keep happy for future business. As Loughran and Ritter's landmark 2002 research documented, issuers tend to focus on the wealth gained from the IPO rather than the wealth lost to underpricing, making them insufficiently resistant to low pricing. U.S. IPO underpricing averaged approximately 18.8% in the 1990s.
On a $500M raise with a 20% first-day pop, the issuer has effectively transferred $100 million of value to institutional investors who received shares at the IPO price. That transfer does not appear in any cost disclosure. It is real money, and it belongs in your board presentation.
For the full mechanics of how the final price is negotiated the night before trading, see IPO Pricing Process: A 2026 Practitioner Walkthrough.
Other Execution Costs
These are relatively small in absolute terms but non-trivial for smaller deals:
| Cost Item | Basis / Range |
|---|---|
| SEC registration fee | $153.10 per $1,000,000 of offering amount |
| FINRA fee | $500 + 0.015% of max aggregate offering (capped at $225,500, rising to $1,125,000 from July 2025) |
| Nasdaq/NYSE initial listing fee | Varies by market cap tier; typically $50,000, $300,000+ |
| Legal fees (execution phase) | Highly variable; can run $2M, $10M+ depending on SEC comment rounds |
| Accounting/audit fees (execution) | Comfort letters, S-1 consents, review of SEC filings |
| Roadshow expenses | Travel, materials, investor presentations; next largest after underwriting |
| Printing and distribution | EDGAR filing support, XBRL tagging, document production |
The roadshow deserves a specific note: it is the next largest disclosed expense after underwriting, and it also carries a significant shadow cost in management time. CEOs and CFOs typically spend 50% to 70% of their working hours on IPO preparation and roadshow activities for three to six months. That opportunity cost, while never appearing in any filing, is real and should factor into the timing decision.
Phase 3: Year 1 Ongoing Public-Company Costs
The costs of being public do not end on IPO day. They recur every year, and they are material enough that a company needs genuine scale to absorb them from operating cash flow.
Nasdaq Economic Research estimates that average annual compliance costs for U.S. public companies total approximately $9 billion across the market. At the company level, the recurring cost stack includes:
- Quarterly and annual SEC reporting: 10-K, 10-Q, 8-K filings; legal and accounting fees for each; XBRL tagging.
- Audit fees: Ongoing PCAOB-standard audit; SOX 404(b) attestation once the company crosses the large accelerated filer threshold.
- D&O and other insurance: Annual renewal, typically at elevated rates for the first few years as a public company.
- Investor relations: IR staff, earnings call preparation, investor day events, proxy solicitation.
- Board and committee costs: Director compensation, committee meeting support, governance counsel.
- Exchange listing fees: Annual fees to Nasdaq or NYSE.
- Legal and compliance: Ongoing securities law counsel, insider trading policy administration, Reg FD compliance.
The 2026 regulatory environment may reduce some of these costs. The SEC proposed semiannual reporting for domestic issuers in May 2026 (Rule S7-2026-15). If adopted, eliminating two quarterly 10-Q filings per year would save an estimated average of 116 pages of filings per company and reduce legal, accounting, and management time costs meaningfully. That proposal is not yet final, but it is a genuine signal that the SEC wants to reduce the ongoing cost burden of being public.
On ESG disclosure: the SEC's climate rules remain in litigation limbo as of September 2026. Companies going public this year face genuine uncertainty about whether and when they will need to comply with climate-related disclosure requirements. Budget for scenario planning on this, not for a specific compliance cost.
What Does a Failed or Withdrawn IPO Cost?
This question never appears in the standard IPO cost articles, and it should. A withdrawn IPO is not free.
By the time a company pulls an IPO, it has typically incurred:
- Months of legal fees for S-1 drafting and SEC comment responses
- Audit fees for the required financial statement preparation
- Management time cost for the roadshow and preparation period
- Underwriter fees (some portion may be owed depending on the engagement letter)
- Reputational cost with institutional investors who participated in the roadshow
The dollar cost of a withdrawn IPO can run into the millions before any capital is raised. This is a real risk that belongs in the board-level go/no-go analysis, particularly for companies considering a smaller raise where the fixed cost base is a higher percentage of potential proceeds.
IPO Costs by Deal Size: The Non-Linearity Problem
The most important structural feature of IPO costs is that they do not scale linearly with deal size. Fixed and semi-fixed costs (legal, accounting, governance build-out, D&O, exchange fees) are roughly the same whether a company raises $100M or $500M. The result: smaller raises bear a dramatically higher percentage burden.
For some smaller IPOs, costs exceeded 20% of the raise. At that level, the economics of going public become genuinely questionable. A company raising $75M and spending $15M on IPO costs has consumed 20% of its capital before deploying a dollar.
This non-linearity is one of the documented reasons U.S. companies are going public later. The average company age at IPO used to be eight years; it is now 11 years, according to NBER research. One of the most commonly cited reasons companies stay private is the cost and legal risk of being public.
For companies evaluating whether a smaller raise makes economic sense, the comparison to alternative paths (direct listing, SPAC, staying private with secondary liquidity) is worth running explicitly. See Direct Listing vs IPO vs SPAC 2026: The Decision Framework for a data-driven comparison of the cost trade-offs across structures.
The 2026 Regulatory Context: What Changes the Cost Equation
Three regulatory developments are directly relevant to IPO cost planning in 2026:
-
SEC semiannual reporting proposal (May 2026): If Rule S7-2026-15 is adopted, domestic issuers would file two annual reports and two semiannual reports instead of four quarterly reports. The reduction in ongoing compliance costs is real and should factor into the post-IPO cost model, but the rule is not yet final.
-
PCAOB audit standard updates: Ongoing PCAOB standard-setting affects the scope and cost of the IPO audit and the first-year SOX 404(b) attestation. Companies should confirm with their audit firm what current standards require for the specific filing.
-
SEC climate disclosure rules: The SEC's climate rules are in active litigation. Companies going public in 2026 should not assume they are exempt from eventual climate disclosure requirements, but they also should not budget for full compliance costs that may not apply. Build flexibility into the compliance roadmap.
The SEC's broader policy direction is supportive of public listings. The agency has explicitly quantified the benefits of being public (lower borrowing costs, greater access to capital, employment and economic growth) and has signaled a renewed focus on reducing barriers to listing, particularly for smaller companies.
IPO Cost Planning: The Sequencing That Matters
For a CFO targeting an IPO 18 to 24 months out, the sequencing of cost investments matters as much as the total budget:
- Months 18-24 before IPO: Engage Big Four auditor; begin financial statement audit for the required historical periods; start SOX readiness assessment; recruit independent board members.
- Months 12-18: Complete internal controls documentation and testing; address any material weaknesses; finalize governance structure; begin 409A valuations; engage outside securities counsel.
- Months 6-12: Engage investment banks (see IPO Underwriter Selection Process: A 2026 CFO Walkthrough); begin S-1 drafting; conduct testing-the-waters meetings under SEC Rule 163B; obtain D&O insurance quotes.
- Months 3-6: File S-1; respond to SEC comment letters; prepare roadshow materials; finalize underwriting agreement.
- IPO week: Price the deal; begin trading; activate ongoing public-company compliance calendar.
Companies that compress this timeline pay for it in remediation costs, rushed audits, and SEC comment letter rounds that delay the offering.
FAQ
How much does an IPO cost in total dollars in 2026? The average all-in cost across all deal sizes is approximately $27 million, combining pre-IPO preparation and execution costs. For large raises above $1 billion, total costs can reach approximately $90 million. Smaller raises under $250 million typically run $10 million to $15 million in all-in costs, but that can represent 15%, 20%+ of proceeds.
What is the underwriting fee for a 2026 IPO? Underwriting fees typically run 4%, 7% of gross proceeds and represent 50%, 70% of total disclosed IPO costs. The 7% rate is negotiable for larger deals. On a $300M raise, a 7% underwriting discount equals $21 million paid at closing.
What IPO costs are disclosed in SEC filings vs. not disclosed? Disclosed costs (per the PwC dataset of 1,239 companies) include: underwriting, legal, accounting, SEC registration fees, FINRA fees, exchange listing fees, and printing/distribution. Not disclosed in filings: D&O insurance premiums, PR/IR costs, internal controls build-out, consulting, 409A valuations, roadshow expenses (sometimes partially disclosed), and management time.
What are the ongoing annual costs of being a public company? Recurring public-company costs include: annual audit and quarterly review fees, SOX 404(b) attestation (for large accelerated filers), SEC reporting legal fees, D&O insurance renewals, investor relations, board compensation, exchange listing fees, and compliance counsel. Aggregate annual compliance costs for U.S. public companies total approximately $9 billion across the market.
Does the SEC's 2026 semiannual reporting proposal reduce IPO costs? It reduces ongoing post-IPO costs, not the one-time transaction cost. If adopted, eliminating two quarterly 10-Q filings per year saves an estimated 116 pages of filings per company annually, with corresponding reductions in legal, accounting, and management time costs. The proposal (Rule S7-2026-15) is not yet final.
What is the cost of a withdrawn IPO? A withdrawn IPO still incurs legal fees for S-1 drafting and SEC comment responses, audit fees for financial statement preparation, roadshow costs, and potentially some underwriter fees depending on the engagement letter. Total sunk costs can run into the millions before a single dollar of capital is raised.







